Skip to content

Spanish Duo Through to Valencia Main Draw


Home hopes Edmon Lopez Moller and Iker Pajares Bernabeu secured their places in the the main draw action at the PSA Valencia, PSA M10 event after claiming respective victories over Tristan Eysele and Richard Williams in the final qualifying round.

Moller’s fixture against Eysele in particular was a mammoth five-game battle with both players going toe-to-toe in an engaging and combative affair. It was eventually the former who came out of the encounter with the win, prevailing with a 9-11, 11-8, 11-9, 2-11, 11-2 triumph to move through to the next round.

The Spaniard will line up against Jens Schoor in the main draw’s opening round in what is sure to be a testing tie against the German number three seed.

Eysele benefits from Lucky Loser status after Steven Finitsis pulled out so he advances to the next round where he will play Geoffrey Demont who bested Dani Pascual in qualifying.

Pajares meanwhile came through his match against Williams in straight games and the 19-year-old will face off with England’s James Earles for a place in the quarter-final.

The other final qualifying round clash was an all-Portuguese affair with Rui Soares taking on Claudio Pinto. Soares came out on top with a 3-0 victory and he meets Mazen Gamal in the first round of the main draw.

Results – Final Qualifying Round: PSA Valencia 2015
Geoffrey Demont (FRA) bt [7] Dani Pascual (ESP) 3-0: 11-2, 11-3, 11-3 (25m)
[3] Rui Soares (POR) bt [5] Claudio Pinto (POR) 3-0: 11-4, 11-5, 11-2 (25m)
[2] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP) bt [6] Richard Williams (ENG) 3-0: 11-6, 11-7, 11-4 (25m)
[1] Edmon Lopez Moller (ESP) bt [4] Tristan Eysele (RSA) 3-2: 9-11, 11-8, 11-9, 2-11, 11-2 (59m)

Main Draw – First Round
[1] Kristian Frost Olesen (DEN) v Khawaja Adil Maqbool (PAK)
[Q] Geoffrey Demont (FRA) v [LL] Tristan Eysele (RSA)
[5] Carlos Cornes Ribadas (ESP) v Alejandro Garbi Caro (ESP)
[Q] Edmon Lopez Moller (ESP) v [3] Jens Schoor (GER)
[4] James Earles (ENG) v [Q] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP)
[Q] Rui Soares (POR) v [6] Mazen Gamal (EGY)
[7] George Parker (ENG) v Matthew Hopkin (ENG)
[WC] Aitor Zunzunegui (ESP) v [2] Piedro Schweertman (NED)

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour