Skip to content

Raphael Kandra came through ToC qualifying

Upsets Abound on Final Day of Tournament of Champions Qualification


The top three qualifying seeds in the 2017 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions, PSA World Series event fell to surprise defeats on the final day of qualification, with Cesar Salazar, Gregoire Marche and Omar Abdel Meguid all missing out on a place in the main draw, which will be staged in New York’s iconic Grand Central Terminal.

Salazar, the World No.26, came up against Raphael Kandra in his fixture, but fell two games behind after a strong start from the German World No.43.

Salazar prevailed in the third to halve the deficit, only to see a resilient Kandra hold firm in the fourth to triumph on the tie-break and seal a place in the main draw of the Tournament of Champions for the second year in a row, where he will take on Australian No.1 Cameron Pilley.

Meanwhile, Marche and Meguid fell to the same fate as Salazar as they lost out to Hong Kong’s Tsz Fung Yip and Scotland’s Alan Clyne, respectively.

Yip’s reward is a main draw clash with World No.7 Ali Farag, while Clyne will need to navigate his way past three-time World Champion and 2012 winner Nick Matthew.

England’s World No.38 Declan James upset Hong Kong’s Leo Au to set up a main draw meeting with defending champion Mohamed ElShorbagy, while New Zealand’s Paul Coll continued his recent good form, beating compatriot Campbell Grayson to secure a maiden Tournament of Champions main draw berth against England’s Chris Simpson.

Botswana’s former World No.12 Alister Walker saw his qualifying campaign come to an end at the hands of Switzerland’s Nicolas Mueller, while there were also wins for Nafiizwan Adnan and Tom Richards as qualification drew to a close.

Results – Final Qualifying Round: 2017 J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions
[8] Paul Coll (NZL) bt [15] Campbell Grayson (NZL) 3-0: 11-2, 11-5, 11-8
[7] Nicolas Müller (SUI) bt [L] Alister Walker (BOT) 3-2: 5-11, 7-11, 11-9, 13-11, 13-11
[6] Tom Richards (ENG) bt [12] Lucas Serme (FRA) 3-1: 10-12, 15-13, 11-9, 11-6
[10] Alan Clyne (SCO) bt [3] Omar Abdel Meguid (EGY) 3-0: 11-8, 12-10, 11-4
[9] Yip Tsz Fung (HKG) bt [2] Gregoire Marche (FRA) 3-1: 5-11, 12-10, 11-3, 11-9
[13] Declan James (ENG) bt [5] Leo Au (HKG) 3-2: 11-9, 11-7, 8-11, 3-11, 11-6
[4] Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) bt [11] Adrian Waller (ENG) 3-1: 9-11, 11-4, 11-5, 11-6
Raphael Kandra (GER) bt Cesar Salazar (MEX) 3-1: 11-2, 11-5, 7-11, 12-10

Draw – First Round
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) v [Q] Declan James (ENG)
Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) v Max Lee (HKG)
Borja Golan (ESP) v Stephen Coppinger (RSA)
Daryl Selby (ENG) v [5] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY)
[7] Omar Mosaad (EGY) v Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY)
Tarek Momen (EGY) v [Q] Tom Richards (ENG)
Fares Dessouky (EGY) v [WC] Todd Harrity (USA)
Diego Elias (PER) v [3] Gregory Gaultier (FRA)
[4] Nick Matthew (ENG) v [Q] Alan Clyne (SCO)
James Willstrop (ENG) v Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL)
Chris Simpson (ENG) v [Q] Paul Coll (NZL)

[Q] Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v [6] Ali Farag (EGY)

[8] Simon Rösner (GER) v [Q] Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS)
Saurav Ghosal (IND) v [Q] Nicolas Mueller (SUI)
Cameron Pilley (AUS) v [Q] Raphael Kandra (GER)
Zahed Mohamed (EGY) v [2] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY)

  • The PSA World Tour's biggest-ever season is showing more than 450 live games on SQUASHTV.
Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour