Skip to content

Farag To Replace Ashour In World Series Finals

Egyptian Ali Farag is set to make his first ever appearance at the PSA Dubai World Series Finals after three-time World Champion Ramy Ashour today withdrew from the season-ending event due to illness.

Ashour, who won the 2007 and 2013 World Series Finals, finished eighth on the PSA Road To Dubai Standings to secure the final place at the lucrative $160,000 tournament.

He will now be replaced by Farag, who finished ninth on the Road To Dubai Standings, with the 25-year-old taking his place in Group B alongside Gregory Gaultier, James Willstrop and Mohamed ElShorbagy.

The PSA Dubai World Series Finals takes place from June 6-10, 2017 with the tournament match schedule to be announced on Monday June 5. All of the action will be shown live on SQUASHTV (rest of world) and EUROSPORT PLAYER (Europe only).

Group stage matches will take place at 3:00pm, 3:45pm, 16:45pm and 17:30pm (Group A) and 21:30pm, 22:15pm, 23:15pm and 00:00am (Group B) between June 6-8 with the semi-finals due to take place from 22:00pm on June 9. The finals will commence at 22:00pm local time on June 10.

PSA Dubai World Series Finals – Groups

Women – Group A
Camille Serme
Raneem El Welily
Nouran Gohar
Alison Waters

Women – Group B
Nour El Sherbini
Laura Massaro
Nicol David
Sarah-Jane Perry

Men – Group A
Karim Abdel Gawad
Marwan Elshorbagy
Nick Matthew
Simon Rosner

Men – Group B
Gregory Gaultier
Mohamed Elshorbagy
James Willstrop
Ali Farag

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour