Skip to content

Diego Elias will be the top seed for the Motor City Open

Elias & ElShorbagy Seeded To Meet In Motor City Open Final

Peru’s World No.6 Diego Elias and Egypt’s World No.8 Marwan ElShorbagy are seeded to meet in the final of the Motor City Open when the tournament takes place in Detroit between February 5-9.

The tournament’s No.1 seed Elias will face either England’s Nathan Lake or Indian Aditya Jagtap in the second round of the PSA World Tour Silver event, after receiving a bye through to the last 16.

He could then face fellow Latin American Cesar Salazar in the quarter finals, before a possible meeting with defending Motor City Open champion Mohamed Abouelghar in the semis, ahead of a clash with 2018 winner Marwan ElShorbagy in the final.

To reach the final, ‘the Jackal’ could have to beat another former Motor City Open champion, in 2015 winner Miguel Rodriguez, in the semi-finals. His first match of the event will be against either George Parker or Todd Harrity, before a potential clash with Hong Kong No.1 Leo Au.

Meanwhile, ahead of that possible clash with the No.1 seed in the last four, reigning champion Mohamed Abouelghar will start his week against either Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi or Karim El Hammamy in the second round, before a possible meeting with compatriot Zahed Salem in the quarter-finals.

No.4 seed, and 2015 champion, Miguel Rodriguez will play either Chris Hanson or Mohamed ElSherbini in the second round, ahead of a potential meeting with French No.1 Gregoire Marche in the last eight.

The tournament takes place from February 5-9, with 24 players looking to take home the winner’s share of the $76,000 prize pot from the PSA World Tour Silver event.

For more information on the tournament visit the PSA World Tour website or follow the event on Twitter and Facebook.

You can also keep up with the live scores from the event here.

Draw – Motor City Open
[1] Diego Elias (PER) – [Bye]
Aditya Jagtap (IND) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
Arturo Salazar (MEX) v Sebastian Bonmalais (FRA)
[8] Cesar Salazar (MEX) – [Bye]
[6] Zahed Salem (EGY) – [Bye]
Benjamin Aubert (FRA) v Ramit Tandon (IND)
Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT) v Karim El Hammamy (EGY)
[3] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) – [Bye]
[4] Miguel Rodriguez (COL) – [Bye]
Chris Hanson (USA) v Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND)
Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY) v Richie Fallows (ENG)
[5] Gregoire Marche (FRA) – [Bye]
[7] Leo Au (HKG) – [Bye]
Shahjahan Khan (USA) v Vikram Malhotra (IND)
George Parker (ENG) v Todd Harrity (USA)
[2] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) – [Bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour