Skip to content

Tesni Evans injured her ankle at the Tournament of Champions

Evans Withdraws From Cleveland Classic Through Injury

Welsh No.1 Tesni Evans has withdrawn from the upcoming Cleveland Classic due to not being able to recover from an injury she suffered at the J.P. Morgan Tournament of Champions.

The World No.9 was playing against Olivia Blatchford Clyne at Grand Central Terminal when she went over on her ankle, with the pain too much for her to continue in her second round match.

Evans will now look to continue her recovery from the injury, in the hope she will be able to return to fitness ahead of the Windy City Open 2020 presented by the Walter Family, which takes place from February 27-March 4 in Chicago.

The Welshwoman’s withdrawal from the PSA Bronze event will see Hong Kong’s Annie Au move up to take the No.4 seed, with Victoria Lust inheriting the No.8 seed, and a bye into the second round of the tournament.

Egypt’s Menna Hamed will now play compatriot Salma Youssef in the first round, with Nadia Pfister taking her place in the tournament, facing Menna Nasser on the opening day.

The Cleveland Classic will take place between January 30-February 3 at the Cleveland Racquet Club, as Nour El Tayeb looking to defend the title she won in 2019.

The following movements have been made:
- Annie Au replaces Tesni Evans and receives a bye in Round 1
- Victoria Lust replaces Annie Au and receives a bye in Round 1
- Menna Hamed replaces Victoria Lust and plays Salma Youssef in Round 1
- Nadia Pfister will replace Menna Hamed and play Menna Nasser in Round 1.

Revised Draw – Cleveland Classic
[1] Nour El Tayeb – [Bye]
Ineta Mackevica (LAT) v Sabrina Sobhy (USA)
Farida Mohamed (EGY) v Jessica Turnbull (AUS)
[7] Salma Hany (EGY) – [Bye]
[5] Joshna Chinappa (IND) – [Bye]
Nadia Pfister (SUI) v Menna Nasser (EGY)
Nadine Shahin (EGY) v [WC] Marina de Juan Gallach (ESP)
[4] Annie Au (HKG) – [Bye]
[3] Sarah-Jane Perry (ENG) – [Bye]
Salma Youssef (EGY) v Menna Hamed (EGY)
Mayar Hany (EGY) v Sarah Cardwell (AUS)
[6] Alison Waters (ENG) – [Bye]
[8] Victoria Lust (ENG) – [Bye]
Anna Serme (CZE) v Olivia Blatchford Clyne (USA)
Hollie Naughton (CAN) v Ali Loke (WAL)
[2] Joelle King (NZL) – [Bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour