Skip to content

Fares Dessouky

Dessouky Withdraws From Upcoming Qatar Q-Terminals Classic

Egypt’s World No.7 Fares Dessouky has withdrawn from the upcoming Qatar Q-Terminals Classic due to the back injury which he suffered at the CIB Egyptian Open earlier this season.

The Egyptian is having to miss a third tournament in succession due to the ongoing problem, having also withdrawn from the Oracle NetSuite Open and the U.S. Open presented by Truist.

With the World No.7 pulling out of the Platinum level tournament in Doha, Welshman Joel Makin moves into the top eight seeds and has a bye through to the second round. France’s Baptiste Masotti moves into the 9/16 seeding bracket and also now receives a bye through to the last 32 in Qatar.

Scotland’s Alan Clyne replaces the Frenchman in the 17/32 seeding bracket and will now face India’s Mahesh Managonkar in the first round, with Bernat Jaume coming into the draw. The Spaniard will face George Parker on the opening day of the tournament.

Updated First Round Draw: Qatar Classic
[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Youssef Ibrahim (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Mazen Hesham (EGY) – [Bye]
Bernat Jaume (ESP) v [17/32] George Parker (ESP)
[17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO) v Ramit Tandon (IND)
Tsz Fung Yip (HKG) v [17/32] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)
[17/32] Iker Pajares Bernabeu v Dimitri Steinmann (SUI)
[8] Joel Makin (WAL) – [Bye]
[6] Diego Elias (PER) – [Bye]
[WC] Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT) v [17/32] Declan James (ENG)
[17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX) v Sebastien Bonmalais (FRA)
[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA) – [Bye]
[17/32] Raphael Kanra (GER) v [WC] Abdulrahman Al-Malki (QAT)
Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) v [17/32] Alan Clyne (SCO)
[17/32] Borja Golan (ESP) v Todd Harrity (USA)
[4] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) – [Bye]
[3] Tarek Momen (EGY) – [Bye]
Faraz Khan (USA) v [17/32] James Willstrop (ENG)
[17/32] Lucas Serme (FRA) v Vikram Malhotra (IND)
Shahjahan Khan (USA) v [17/32] Tom Richards (ENG)
[9/16] Youssef Soliman (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Saurav Ghosal (IND) – [Bye]
[7] Mostafa Asal (EGY) – [Bye]
[5] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) – [Bye]
[9/16] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) – [Bye]
[17/32] Adrian Waller (ENG) v Nathan Lake (ENG)
Arturo Salazar (MEX) v [17/32] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY)
[17/32] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Patrick Rooney (ENG)
[9/16] Baptiste Masotti (FRA) – [Bye]
[17/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) v Richie Fallows (ENG)
[2] Paul Coll (NZL) – [Bye]

Join SQUASHTV and get closer to the PSA World Tour